maval2It was voting day for the Maval constituency. At the time of filing this report, the constituency had registered an approximate voting percentage of nearly 45%. The Mawal LS constituency starts from Pimpri-Chinchwad on the outskirts of Pune and ends at Kharghar, 110 km away. It comprises of six assembly constituencies viz. Mawal, Pimpri, Chinchwad, Panvel, Uran, Karjat and Khalapur. Voting began at 7 am in the morning and saw poor turn out of voters till 12 noon in the 456 voting centers spread across the constituency. The main contenders of the Mawal seat are NCP’s Azam Pansare and Shiv Sena’s Gajanan Babar. Some factors that experts believe are likely to decide the fate of the voting pattern and results of this constituency include the Peasants and Workers Party support to the Shiv Sena candidate and the anti-feeling among farmers who are loosing land in the name of SEZ. The constituency is attains significance as it includes Pimpri-Chinchwad municipal corporation area, which is an industrial belt and the richest municipal corporation of the country. NMTV teams traveled across the constituency and as voters poured in slowly to voting centers, we spoke to some of them about the need of every eligible citizen to cast their right to vote. We also spotted some of the PWP and Shiv Sena leaders during voting process and spoke to them. To assist the voters, for the first time, voter’s service centers were made available at different places in the constituency. On its part the police played a successful role of deploying security near all the voting centres and ensuring a peaceful day of voting throughout Maval constituency. With voting process over, the fate of the candidates at the Mawal constituency has been sealed in the electronic voting machines. The report card of who beat who will now unfold on the D-Day next month. With Rajeev Mishra, Manisha Kumbhar for NMTV News.

Related Articles

Back to top button