FrontNationNewsTop Stories

BJP wins 12 seats and Congress wins 6 in the Rajya Sabha polls

The Congress won six seats in the Rajya Sabha polls on Saturday but it was the BJP-led alliance that made significant gains with 12 seats in the biennial elections marked by cross-voting and a dramatic rejection of votes for a “wrong pen”.

The other major gainer in the elections held for 27 seats across seven states include the Samajwadi Party which won seven seats in Uttar Pradesh. The Bahujan Samaj Party won two.

Out of the 58 seats that fell vacant in the Upper House this summer, the NDA has now won 23, improving upon the 18 seats it held earlier. The Congress, which held 15 of these seats, now has nine.

31 candidates won unopposed last week.

Overall, the NDA now has 72 seats in the Rajya Sabha, still far off from the halfway mark of 123 that would allow the ruling alliance to push through key legislations stuck in the Upper House.

Though the backing of some its potential supporters such as AIADMK and the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) can push up the NDA’s strength to 106, the Congress still remains an influential opposition with 58 seats.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button