MumbaiNavi MumbaiNewsTop Stories

Jolt To NCP In NMMC : Shiv Sena’s Shivram Patil Becomes Chairman In Historic Elections

Navi Mumbai : In a big jolt to NCP, Shiv Sena corporator Shivram Patil was elected as NMMC Standing Committee Chairman. Even as NCP’s J D Sutar seemed to be the likely candidate to win the elections, the chain of events as the elections began shocked everyone.


It may be noted that since NCP’s Aparna Gavte resigned from the post of Standing Committee member, NCP’s Prakash More was chosen to fill her place. But for his official nomination, a general body meeting had to be called. NMMC’s Chitra Bhaviskar changed the general body meeting to facilitate this for NCP. The meeting that was going to be held on May 10 was advanced to May 9 by her. The opposition took on the NMMC Secretary over it and approached the Chief Minister Devendra Fadavnis. The office of the Chief Minister ordered to cancel the meeting, alleged Shiv Sena Opposition Leader in NMMC Vijay Chougule just ahead of NMMC Standing Committee elections. Even then Mayor Sudhakar Sonawane called for the meeting to induce Prakash More as Standing Committee members.


But fate was against NCP this time or perhaps it was the upright Commissioner Tukaram Mundhe who does not entertain flouting rules or norms. As soon as the meeting started, presiding election office and Raigad Collector termed BJP’s Deepak Pawar’s nomination for Chairman as invalid. The contest became direct one between NCP’s J D Sutar and Shiv Sena’s Shivram Patil.

The jolt first came to NCP from the Raigad Collector who refused to accept Prakash More as member of Standing Committee at the last moment. This left NCP at the mercy of Congress corporator Meera Patil.

With Congress and NCP having an alliance in NMMC, many expected the Congress would vote for NCP but the shocker came when Congress voted for Shiv Sena. NCP had 7 votes and so did Shiv Sena. The only vote that would decide the fate of who would become Chairman was of Meera Patil, a Sanstosh Shetty loyalist.

And at his orders she played the role of kingmaker by voting for Shivram Patil.

The elections are termed as historic as never in NMMC’s history this has happened. Soon after the elections, MP Rajan Vichare, Shiv Sena leader Vijay Nahata and BJP MLA Manda Mhatre arrived to congratulate Shivram Patil.


With an aggressive anti-Naik corporator like Shivram Patil taking charge of NMMC Standing Committee elections and an aggressive no-nonsense Commissioner Tukaram Mundhe taking charge, the going for Ganesh Naik led NCP is going to get tougher and more challenging in days to come.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button