FrontNavi MumbaiNewsTop Stories

Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation’s new standing committee members nominated

Mayor Sudhakar Sonawane declared names of eight new members of the Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation’s standing committee on Wednesday following hectic political parleys among the Shiv Sena and the NCP corporators.

The announcement of the names upset Shiv Sena woman corporator Saroj Patil, who threatened to resign.

The new members have been elected in place of the outgoing eight members who retired following the completion of their two-year tenure.

The new members from the Shiv Sena are opposition leader Vijay Chougule, group leader Dwarkanath Bhoir, Namdeo Bhagat, Deepali Sankpal and Rucha Patil.

The new members from the NCP are former standing committee chairman Suresh Kulkarni, former deputy mayor Ashok Gawde and Devidas Hande Patil have been elected.

The names of the Shiv Sena members came amidst several days of virtual revolt by several corporators who objected to the names of Chougule, Bhagat and Bhoir, claiming they already held other posts.

Following the protest, though the names of the three bigwigs have been retained, names of two others have been changed to give an opportunity to newcomers.

The decision has however not gone down well with Saroj Patil, a former opposition leader, whose name was dropped at the last moment. Patil said, “I wouldn’t mind if my name had not been on the list earlier. But it is an insult to have your name dropped at this stage. I will resign as the corporator. I will continue to work as a party worker.” Bhoir said that they would sort out the issue.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button