ward-committe-2After a delay of one year, NMMC ward committee elections were held in the presence of Thane Collector A A Jarhad who was present as the presiding officer. In the elections, NCP candidates were elected unopposed in all the ward elections, reports Monika Bhosale. The ruling NCP has managed to get elected its candidates unopposed on all the six ward committees of NMMC. The nominations for the six wards, A, B, C, D, E and F were to be filed on Friday. However, with no applications coming from opposition parties, barring F ward, other committees saw the ruling party members clinching the posts of respective chiefs without being challenged. For the panel for F ward, election was held at civic headquarters with NCP’s Ashok Patil taking on Shiv Sena’s Bahadursingh Bist. However, even in this ward election, Ashok Patil was elected unopposed as Shiv Sena’s candidate withdrew his nominations. The ward elections were held under the presiding officer, Thane Collector A A Jarhad who announced the names of the chairpersons. In this election, 50% reservation was seen with three women members elected as the chairpersons. From ward A, Rekha Mhatre was elected, ward B ” Surekha Ethape, Ward C ” Shubhangi Patil, Ward D ” Ravindra Mhatre, Ward E ” Balkrishna Patil and for Ward F Ashok Patil. The elected chairpersons were then felicitated. NMMC Secretary Chandrakant Deokar spoke to the media post the announcement. He added that Shiv Sena’s Bahadursingh Bist. Who had filed his nominations for F ward, withdrew at the last moment. With cameraperson Santosh Bodhare, Monika Bhosale for NMTV News.

Related Articles

Back to top button