standing-2The selection of 8 members to the Standing Committee was done at the special general body meeting convened at the NMMC HQ. The selection was necessitated due to the termination of the 2 years tenure of 8 members from the Standing Committee that included NCP’s Sandeep Naik, Ashok Patil, M K Madhvi, Devidas Hande Patil, Congress’s Avinash Lad and Sangeeta Sutar and Anant Sutar and Satvashila Karne of the Ashtvinayak group. Of these Sandeep Naik, M K Madhvi and Anant Sutar have been retained while the new names to enter the Standing Committee are NCP’s Ravindra Ithape and Aparna Gavte, Congress’s Santosh Shetty and Shashikala Kale and Shivram Patil. Mayor Anjani Bhoir declared the names of the new members following which the Mayor, Dy. Mayor Shashikant Bhoir and DMC J N Sinnarkar felicitated the members. Sandeep Naik re-induction to the Standing Committee indicates that he is likely to continue as the Standing Committee Chairman. With two successful terms as Standing Committee Chairman, Sandeep Naik has embarked on several major projects for the city. Sources reveal that despite Sandeep Naik’s reluctance to continue, the NCP wanted him back as Chairman so that Sandeep can continue the progressive work he has been doing in the crucial year of assembly and corporation elections. With cameraperson Abhay Prasad, Zeba Warsia for NMTV News.

Related Articles

Back to top button