EntertainmentTop Stories

Padma Awards 2016: President honours Priyanka Chopra, Anupam Kher, Rajinikanth and others

President of India Pranab Mukherjee conferred the Padma Awards 2016 on Monday, March 28. The award presentation ceremony was held at Rashtrapati Bhavan and was also attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Padma Awards are given to recognise people’s distinguished contribution in various fields including art, science, social work, public affairs, medicine, literature, sports, educations, trade and industry and civil services among many others.

Padma Awards are divided into three categories — Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. Nine personalities received the Padma Vibhushan, 13 well-known people won the Padma Bhushan and 83 persons have been awarded with Padma Shri.The personalities, who were honoured Monday, include stars like Ajay Devgn, Rajinikanth, Anupam Kher, Priyanka Chopra and Madhur Bhandarkar. Spiritual leader Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, architect Hafeez Contractor, former Comptroller Auditor General Vinod Rai, Badminton player Saina Nehwal, archer Deepika Kumari, Reliance Industries founder late Dhirubhai Ambani, chef Imitiaz Qureshi, scientist Onkar Nath, journalists Ashok Malik and Pushpesh Pant among others also were honoured.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button