FrontNationNewsTop Stories

PM Modi files nomination papers for Varanasi constituency

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday filed his nomination papers for the Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency.

He was accompanied by BJP’s senior leaders including Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari.

Among the allies, Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackrey, JD(U)’s Nitish Kumar, LJP’s Ramvilas Paswan, AIADMK leaders, Shiromani Akali Dal leader Prakash Singh Badal, LJP’s Ramvilas Paswan and many other Union ministers were present.

Before filing nomination papers, PM Modi addressed party workers in Varanasi.

“Pro-incumbency wave is being witnessed for the first time in the country,” Prime Minister Narendra Modi told party workers. He said people have made up their minds that they want Modi government again.

He said people have made up their minds that they want Modi government again.

“Party workers are real candidates; mood is festive from Kashmir to Kanyakumari,” he added.

PM Modi asked BJP workers to break all voting records in this general election.

Taking a dig at the Congress, Modi advised party workers to not be arrogant “because those who showed arrogance were reduced to 40 seats from 400 seats”.

PM Modi is contesting against Congress’ Ajay Rai and SP leader Shalini Yadav. Congress on Thursday had announced that it would field Rai as its candidate from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat, putting to rest speculation regarding Priyanka Gandhi Vadra contesting the general elections against Prime Minister Modi.

This would be the second time Prime Minister Modi and Rai will battle from Varanasi seat.

Varanasi will go to polls on May 19, the last round of seven-phase elections.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button