sagar-naik-2Finally it’s official. Sagar Naik is the Mayor of Navi Mumbai. The mayoral elections ended at the NMMC HQ today. Bharat Nakhate was elected as Dy. Mayor, Vitthal More of the Leader of the House and Manoj Haldankar was elected as Leader of Opposition in NMMC. The elections were more of a formality considering that the NCP enjoys an absolute majority in NMMC with 59 members including the independents. However despite this the Shiv Sena had pitted Jagdish Gavte for Mayor’s post and Satish Ramane for Dy. Mayor’s post. Addtl. Commissioner of Konkan Division Subarao Patil presided over the elections. The procedure of elections began with the presiding official asking if any of the candidates want to withdraw their nominations. Following this, members raised their hands to elect the Mayor first. Evidently Sagar Naik and Bharat Nakhate won with 57 votes. Following this Sagar Naik adorned the Mayoral attire and was congratulated by the Addtl. Konkan Commissioner Subarao Patil, MP Dr. Sanjeev Naik, MLA Sandeep Naik and corporators. NMTV News Dy. Editor Sana Warsia caught up with Sagar Naik post his victory. Later, Sagar Naik took charge of office of the first citizen of Navi Mumbai. Here he was welcomed by Mayor Anjani Bhoir whose tenure comes to an end today. We also caught up with MP Dr. Sanjeev Naik who was the first Mayor of Navi Mumbai. We asked him what advice he would like to give Sagar Naik as he takes charge as the Mayor of Navi Mumbai, to which MP Dr. Sanjeev Naik said this. What did not go amiss was that Sagar Naik arrived in complete 21st century city style in the attire of a perfect gentleman with suit and tie. His youthful appearance looked appealing. Not just Sagar Naik, but all the new members of the 4th NMMC General Body arrived in their best. Even the opposition did not miss the chance of putting a first impression as saffron was the shade of their attire for the day. * STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS ELECTED The house also elected members to the Standing Committee. The new members elected from NCP are Suresh Kulkarni, Shivram Patil, Anant Sutar, Chandrakant Patil, Ramesh Shinde of Vashi, Prabhakar Bhoir, Vinaya Madhvi, Sneha Palkar, Ashok Bhausu Patil, Sandeep Sutar, Suraj Patil. The Shiv Sena members elected to the Standing Committee are Vijayanad Mane, Dilip Ghodekar, Saroj Patil and the Congress members are Dashrath Bhagat and Pranali Lad. * CO-OPT MEMBERS DECLARED Co-opt members of the house were also elected on the day. NCP elected Sabu Daniel, Tanaji Patil and Siraj Bashir while Shiv Sena has sent Shankar Billare as their co-opt member while Congress has sent Namdeo Bhagat as their co-opt member. * GLIMPSES OF CELEBRATIONS The celebrations continued after the first general body ended. Later Mayor Sagar Naik garlanded the statue of Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj at the Shivaji Chowk with MP Dr. Sanjeev Naik and father of Mayor Sagar Naik – Dyaneshwar Naik. With camerapersons Abhay Prasad and Satish Garud, Monika Bhosale and Sana Warsia for NMTV News.

Related Articles

Back to top button