NewsSportsTop Stories

Santosh, Rohini win titles in inaugural New Delhi Marathon

Santosh Kumar and Rohini Raut won the men’s and women’s titles in the inaugural New Delhi Marathon as 7198 Delhiites took part in different categories here today.

Santosh clocked 2:20:51 to win the men’s marathon while Sanjith Luwang of Army Sport Institute, Pune was second in 2:21:05.

Another runner from Army Sports Institute, Rahul Pal took the third spot in 2.21.46.

“I felt good as this was my first marathon since 2010 as I was suffering from pain. With only one chance remaining to qualify for the Olympics, I would like to participate in the London marathon to be held in April,” said Santosh of Western Railways.

On Friday, the IDBI Federal Life Insurance New Delhi Marathon has been conferred with an AIMS certification, helping it to attain qualification status for major marathons like Tokyo, Boston and Berlin. The event has also been granted the status of National Championships by the Athletics Federation of India.

In women’s marathon, Rohini Raut of Maharashtra clinched the title in 2:50:45 while her twin sister Monika took the silver in 2:55:48. Jyoti Gawte won the bronze in 2:57:16.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button