NationNewsTop Stories

State assembly admits no-confidence motion by YSRC against Council of Ministers

Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly today admitted a motion of no-confidence, moved by the lone opposition YSR Congress, against the Council of Ministers led by Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu.

YSRC deputy leader Jyothula Nehru moved the motion under Rule 75 and Speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao took the consent of the House for admitting it.

“As more than 18 members supported the motion, which is the required one-tenth strength of the House, the no-confidence motion is admitted,” the Speaker announced.

The Business Advisory Committee would decide when the discussion on the motion would be taken up, he added.

Earlier, the YSRC members staged a walkout from the House during Question Hour, protesting the government’s failure to pay adequate compensation to farmers who suffered heavy losses due to natural calamities in last three years.

“In 2013-14, the government did not pay Rs 1,692 crore to farmers. For 2014-15, a sum of Rs 78 crore is yet to paid.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button