State takes action against 20 sugar mills for not paying fair reasonable price

The BJP-led state government has taken action against 20 sugar mills across the state, most of them directly or indirectly controlled by NCP leaders, for not paying fair reasonable price (FRP) to farmers who supplied them sugarcane.

A senior bureaucrat said licences of six mills have been cancelled and eight suspended, while the remaining six have been fined Rs 116.6 crore by the state’s sugar commissioner.
Cooperative minister Chandrakant Patil, who confirmed the move and informed that “Many of the factories are controlled directly or indirectly by NCP leaders.” Sources said among the leaders who control some of the mills are former deputy CM Ajit Pawar, Vijaysingh Mohite Patil, Shyam Bagal and former MLA of Jan Surajya Shakti Party Vinay Kore. Of the 20 mills, four are run privately , while the others are run on a cooperative basis. Those whose licences have been cancelled are Aadinath, Shri Kurmadas and Shivratna Karkambh mills (all Solapur), Vasantdada Shetkari mill (Sangli), Chopda mill (Jalgaon) and Chhatrapati sugar mill in Pune.

Former MLA Vinay Kore’s Korevarna mill in Kolhapur district has been fined Rs 66.9 crore for not paying FRP to farmers.Among the other fined are U Gaikwad sugar mill in Kolhapur (Rs 20.4 crore), Manganga in Sangli (Rs 8.6 crore), YashwantKhanapur in Sangli (Rs 8.5 crore) and Shankar in Solapur (Rs 8.9 crore).
A senior official said unless they pay the fine and FRP to farmers, the licences of those who have been fined or had their licences suspended will not be renewed for the next year.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button