FrontMumbaiNewsTop Stories

Vidarbha beats Delhi by 9 wickets to clinch maiden Ranji Trophy title

Vidarbha won their maiden Ranji Trophy title as they beat Delhi by nine wickets in the final on Monday in Indore. Vidarbha chasing 29 runs to win got there losing just one wicket.

After asking Delhi to bat and bowling them out for 295, Vidarbha put on a mammoth 547 on the board in their first innings thanks to a century by Akshay Wadkar. Delhi were in danger of a innings loss as they were reduced to 234/8. However, tail-enders Vikas Mishra and Akshay Sudan saved them from an innings defeat ensuring a 28-run lead for Delhi in the second innings.

Wasim Jaffer, who won his ninth Ranji Trophy title (his first eight have come with Mumbai) to maintain his record of winning every final he had played in, hit the winning runs.

Fast bowler Rajneesh Gurbani was the star for Vidarbha in Delhi’s first innings, taking 6/59 including a hat-trick. Akshay Wakhare’s took 4/95 while Aditya Sarwate chipped in with 3/30 in Delhi’s second.

On Saturday,  Vidarbha had finished 233-run ahead of Delhi’s first innings score as Akshay Wadkar scored his maiden maiden century. Wadkar, however could not add to his overnight score of 133 on Sunday. Siddhesh Neral entertained the crowd with 56 off 92 deliveries, while hitting four boundaries and as many sixes. Aditya Sarwate, with whom Wadkar stitched a decisive 169 -run partnership for the seventh wicket, contributed a handsome 79 off 154 balls while veteran Wasim Jaffer  scored 78.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button